The definitive information resource for South Asian dance in the UK

Recipients of the Milapfest National Arts Awards 2015 Announced!

Recognising talent and achievement in Indian Arts in Britain

Milapfest have announced the recipients of the First National Indian Arts Awards to recognize and celebrate the remarkable work of British arts professionals who have rendered distinguished service for promoting and strengthening the provision of Indian Arts and Education in Britain.

Here is the list of the distinguished arts professionals and young musicians and dancers to whom the awards will be presented on 8th October evening at the Nehru Centre in London.

Life time Achievement Award for sterling Service to Indian Arts & Education
Dr M N Nandakumara
Executive Director, The Bhavan Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan

Acharya Ratna (Sangeet) -Distinguished Teacher Award in Music
Mrs Sivasakthi Sivanesan
Distinguished Carnatic Music Guru

Acharya Ratna (Nritya) -Distinguished Teacher Award in Dance
Ms Pushkala Gopal
Distinguished Bharatanatyam Guru

Yuva Nritya Ratna-Young dancer of the Year
Parbati Chaudhary (Kathak)

Yuva Sangeet Ratna-Young Musician of the Year
Yarlinie Thanabalasingham (Carnatic Vocalist)

Tarang Musician of the Year
Jasdeep Singh Degun

Samyo Musician of the Year
Sanjuran Keerthikumar

The Award Ceremony will take place at the Nehru Centre, 8 South Audley Street, London W1K 1HF,

Further information available on Milapfest website.